TACKY-DID-AXIE

Rant: retail cash discounts

Posted in fashion, Rant by T on May 6, 2010

I used to work in retail.  I think working in retail sucks more than a lot of things…here is my answer to a question I was asked ALOT. Having to repeat myself made me angry, but afterwards I was just sad…

DO YOU GIVE CASH DISCOUNTS?

No, WE do not.

Unless of course you were planning on purchasing something other than the pair of shoes you tried on that are priced at $109.09. Perhaps, say for instance another 200 pairs from the copious amounts of shite we have pouring out of our backroom? Our even perhaps the entire store. Then I may appreciate your need to pursue a cash discount.

But because you were honestly asking me to knock a little off that hefty $110 tag, I shall answer your question with another question. Did you read a big sign out front saying “The good guys”? Or were you possibly harassed by greasy sales clerks singing re-worded versions of good vibrations as you made your way around the store?

NO? You didn’t?

Did I miss the fact that our retail store had transformed into a Balinese market stall? No, I didn’t.

It seems that you may just be a little too far behind in the retail world. I do understand that once upon a time asking for a cash discount was quite an alright thing to do. This was also a time when you were lucky to be trading in cash and not other precious belongings, such as pocket watches, ribbons or beans. One hundred dollars was once a lot of money and god knows what you could have done with a hundred beans. Now though, people like to throw their cash at anyone or anything that catches their interest and keep their beans in tins labelled Heinz.

So for future reference – RETAIL CHAIN STORES DO NOT GIVE CASH DISCOUNTS.

Tagged with: , , , ,

Thanks for stopping by! Your comments make my day x

